100 years

From experience I know, you cannot write about a person at length if the character doesn’t interest you much. I would much rather prefer writing about my imaginary pencil box than wracking my brain trying to find words for a person that boring.

Today, I am writing about a boy I’ve known from eons back.
Some 100 years back, in the era of Orkut and Google Talk, he taught me how to download a movie from Torrentz and thus saved my college days.

I come from a background where I’ve mostly been treated as a shadow. You notice it and that’s all the acknowledgement about your existence. When was the last time you asked a shadow “Howdy?”. Albeit my respect to those who have this uncanny knack or shall I say privilege, of chatting with shadows. That’s awesome Bruh, keep it up!
He used to be a mysterious young man, I assumed, with plenty of secrets. Secrets that could be considered injurious to his already talked about reputation. I gave a damn about it, not because I wasn’t curious about it. As I reckoned, I would always get to hear only a partial side of the story, from different mouths, never quite the entire picture. Now don’t be too soon to label me a cynic, it is just that I’ve been under the influence of Kurosawa and the likes since teenage days. I remember deciding against judging him, even though I never got to know the whole truth.

Now, why am I writing about him today all of a sudden? We haven’t been in touch since god knows when, I forgot the count. I think he deserves to be written about here. Not to unveil his mysteries that one could decipher, but about the ways he could respect you, about his harmless intentions. This boy would lend a patient ear to you until you make it bleed! Be attentive enough to hold a conversation about absolutely anything under the stars.

It’s okay by both of us not to talk to one another, for each their own reason. But rarely in my life, have I ever wished a person not of my own kith and kin, so much of happiness. The boy deserves all the good wishes in the world 🙂 I don’t think, ever again in my life I will chance upon a friend like him. A friend who would ‘care’ just enough, a friend who would sure turn up as the only audience to your 75mm masterpiece someday! And I would ‘care’ just enough to talk gibberish to.
P.S: I know he reads my blog! Thanks for the listen again man.

4 comments on “100 years

Leave a Reply

